Last Friday was St. Patrick’s day. Since January we have been preparing for this one day. St. Patrick’s Day is our most prepared for event except for our recital. I thought I would explain how we prepare and what we do for St. Patrick’s day.

Each year we start preparing for St. Patrick’s day in January at the earliest. We put together our group dances and we work on them so we have them down by the time the big day rolls around.

My stdio is fairly large so we split up into two groups. This year I had the amazing opportunity to lead a group. I was really worried, but it was one of the best experiences I have had with dance so far. Usually all of the classes split up and go in both groups, but this year it was a little different. The novice II/open I group went with the other group while the beginner I class went with my group. This year was my favorite St. Patrick’s day so far. I had a great group of girls to celebrate and dance with this year.

So a normal St. Patrick’s Day starts at about 8:30 a.m. Our first performance usually is at a school at the beginning of their day. This year we went to four different elementary schools and one nursing home. I love dancing at both nursing homes and schools for different reasons.

Dancing at the elementary schools brings me so much joy. I love seeing the kids all dressed up in their green as they clap off beat to the music. I love seeing their faces light up and hearing the “oohs” and “ahs” when we walk out in our curly wigs and sparkly dresses. They are always so intrigued.

I love dancing at nursing homes because I love seeing the residents’s faces light up. It makes me feel good to be able to bring a tiny bit a joy into their day. After performing we go around and say hello and wish the residents a happy St. Patrick’s day. It’s an amazing experience for everyone involved.

I look forward to St. Patrick’s Day every year. I hope you all had a wonderful St. Patrick’s Day! I cannot wait for next year!

