For me taking a break is the hardest part of dance. A couple of weeks ago I had to make the tough decision to take a break from dance after St. Patrick’s Day. I thought because it was my choice to make that this break would be easier than the last time, but it’s not. I still go into the studio because I love being there, but not being able to participate with my fellow classmates is pretty difficult.

In the middle of preparing for St. Patrick’s Day, I realized that my ankles were giving me more problems than normal. It was becoming hard to put weight on my ankles by the end of a dance, not just the end of class. My ankles were swollen all of the time. We soon realized that it might be a sign of tendentious. I have a whole other story about where these ankle issues stem from, but that’s a whole other post.

St. Patrick’s day was pretty hard. I was doing at least three dances at every show one right after the other. I barely had anytime in between  to rest my ankles and I was up and going all day. However, I made a commitment to my group and I was going to stick to it. But by the end of the day my ankles ached and I could barely walk. The next day I was supposed to go to another performance. I had to make the executive decision not to go and it was a hard decision to make. I am the type of person to take any performance opportunity thrown at me. It was a hard choice to make, but I knew that it would be the right one in the long run. I decided to take about a month off. But even when I start dancing again I will have to take it easy.

Sitting in class can be the most difficult part. While it’s hard to sit there and not dance, I love being at the studio. I love talking to my friends and being in that atmosphere. The last time I was out of dance I did not go to any classes and that was probably harder than sitting in the back. Sitting in the back of the class can also be very useful. While observing it is easier for me to obtain the feedback my classmates are getting and then apply that to my own practicing.

At the end of the day taking time off can be just the thing I need. Last time I was out of dance, I went back with my head fully in the game. I was more focused and I was ready to work harder than I had before. I feel like that will happen this time around as well. I will go in and try my best. I’ll keep working to strengthen my ankles before I start dancing again. I’ll be happy when I can get back into the swing of things again, but as of right now this time off from dance is what’s best for me.

