Well school is over and everything is winding down so I am hoping to get caught up on blog posts again. I have 3 feis reviews yet to write and other dance things to write about. Today I will be focusing on my dance recital.

On Sunday, June 11th, was my school’s annual dance recital. This was the 4th time I have been in it. I honestly have to say that this has probably been the best recital so far, at least for me in my past experiences.

Recital is an event I look forward to each year. I love getting new choreography and dancing with my friends. Besides St. Patrick’s Day, recital is the one performance where we can use our arms and we dance as a team. Yes, we do team performance dances on other occasions as well but this is when they are on such a large scale.

Our big performance piece at the end of recital is always a treble reel featuring all of the advanced dancers in the school. We did a piece to Lindsey Stirling’s “Round Table Rival.” This was probably my favorite treble reel we have done for recital so far. Other dances I was in include a slip jg, hornpipe, big treble reel, and I also did my traditional set that I danced at Oireachtas this past November.

However, there was one dance I was in this year that I was extremely honored to be a part of. As I have mentioned before, in January, I started working with the beginner 1 class and because of that I was considered a teacher. So each year at recital the teachers do a dance together and this year I got to be a part of that. It mean a lot to me to be considered a teacher this year. I have loved working with the beginners and it has been the thing I look forward to every week.

Over all recital was amazing this year. Everyone in it did such an amazing job. I’m so glad to be a part of such a wonderful dance school. So here’s to a another great recital in the books. Now to look forward to next year!

